Eight from TUT in run for NSTF Awards

25 April 2019

Eight research experts from the Tshwane University of Technology have been nominated as finalists in the prestigious 2018/2019 NSTF-South32 Awards.

These awards are often referred to as the ‘Science Oscars’ of South Africa, as they are the largest, most comprehensive, and most sought-after national awards of their kind.

The theme for this year’s awards is the Periodic Table of Chemical Elements, in recognition of the 2019 International Year of the Periodic Table of Chemical Elements as declared by the United Nations (UN). This theme will be celebrated at the 21st annual Awards Gala Dinner on 27 June 2019.

The nominees are:
  • Prof Mammo Muchie, Research Professor: DST/NRF SARChI Chair has been nominated for the NSTF Lifetime Award. The award is for individuals who have been doing research for 15 years and more.

  •  Prof Yskandar Hamam, Emeritus Professor at the Department of Electrical Engineering is also in the running for the NSTF Lifetime Award.

  • Dr Guy Paulin Kamatou, Technologist at the Department of Pharmaceutical Science, received nominations for two TW Kambule-NSTF Awards: Emerging Researcher and in the Engineering Research Capacity Development category.

  • Prof Thomas Otieno Olwal, Associate Professor and Dr Okuthe Paul Kogeda, Senior Lecturer, both from the Department of Computer Science received the nod for the TW Kambule-NSTF Award: Emerging Researcher.

  • Dr Bohani Mtileni, Senior Lecturer at the Department of Animal Sciences is also a nominee for the TW Kambule-NSTF Award: Emerging Researcher.

  • Prof Okechukwu Jonathan Okonkwo, Professor Emeritus: Research and Development; and Rand Water Chair in Organic Chemistry has been nominated for two awards; the NSTF-Water Research Commission (WRC) Award and in the Special Annual Theme category: Materials for inclusive economic development.

  • Prof Emmanuel Rotimi Sadiku, Research Professor at the Faculty of Engineering is in the running for the Innovation Award: Corporate Organisation for innovations and their research and/or development.

Established in 1998, the awards are a collaborative effort to recognise outstanding contributions to science, engineering and technology (SET) as well as innovation by SET-related professionals and organisations in South Africa. This includes experienced scientists, engineers, innovators, science communicators, engineering capacity builders, and organisational managers/leaders, as well as data and research managers.

For more information on the Tshwane University of Technology, please contact Willa de Ruyter, Corporate Affairs and Marketing.
Tel: +27 12 382 5352   Email: deruyterw@tut.ac.za