Top Scientist scoops Business Leader of the Year award 

25 October 2019

One of the University’s top scientists, Prof Shirley Keolebogile Motaung, Assistant Dean at the Faculty of Science, has scooped the Institute of People Management (IPM) Business Leader of the Year award. The award was presented to her at a Gala Dinner at Sun City on 22 October. 

Prof Shirley Motaung, winner of the 2019 IPMBusiness Leader award.

In an interview with e-TUTor, Prof Motaung shared her delight about the award. “It’s humbling to be recognised, especially if you are a scientist and celebrated by the Human Resource fraternity. We received this award, which recognise and award excellence in people leadership, for our teamwork. I have amazing students and graduates working with me. I dedicate this award to my team,” she said. 

The Institute of People Management is a professional membership body representing the Human Resource and People Management fraternity. The IPM is a not-for-profit, independent body with official professional recognition from the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA).

In addition to bagging the top award, she also received a bursary worth R300 000 to use for study towards any business qualification. 

For more information on the Tshwane University of Technology, please contact Willa de Ruyter, Corporate Affairs and Marketing.
Tel: +27 12 382 5352   Email: