TUT to confer first Doctorate degrees

9  October 2018

The Tshwane University of Technology’s (TUT) 2018 Spring Graduation ceremonies, during which 3 182 successful candidates will receive their qualifications, will commence on 10 October 2018. In addition to 26 D Tech degrees, it will be history in the making, with the first fully-fledged PhD degrees being conferred on successful candidates.

The Faculty of Science will award two Doctor of Philosophy in Science on 24 October at the Pretoria Campus. The Faculty of Engineering and The Built Environment will award its first Doctor of Engineering in metallurgical Engineering on 26 October at the Pretoria Campus. 

During these graduation ceremonies, the following qualifications will be conferred:

  • Doctorate of Philosophy in Science – 2
  • Doctorate of Engineering - 1
  • Doctorate in Education – 2
  • Master’s in Business Administration (MBA) – 28
  • Master’s in Education – 2
  • Master’s in Technology – 108
  • B Tech, BES and Honours – 1 149
  • National Diploma – 1 703
  • Higher Certificate – 158
  • National Certificate - 5

Graduation ceremonies at the Soshanguve South will commence as scheduled from 10 to 12 October. A security contingency plan is in place to ensure the safety of graduates and visitors during the graduations. 

A total of 1 545 graduates will receive qualifications during the first three graduation ceremonies on 10, 11 and 12 October at the Gencor Hall, starting at 10:00 daily.

On 11 October, the University will celebrate Mr Tlou Theophilus Cholo’s extraordinary contributions to society with an Honorary Doctorate. Mr Cholo is an avid anti-apartheid fighter, respected leader in the trade union movement in South Africa, one of the founders of the South African Congress of Trade Unions (SACTU) in the 1950s, and recipient of the SA Government’s Order of Luthuli in Silver (2009) for his selfless devotion and sacrifice to the fight against apartheid.

On 12 October, the Faculty of Humanities will award two Doctorate in Education degrees during the ceremony at 10:00.

From 24 to 26 October, Spring Graduations for the remaining 1 637 graduates will be hosted at the Theunis Bester Hall, Pretoria Campus.

For more information on the Tshwane University of Technology, please contact Willa de Ruyter, Corporate Affairs and Marketing.
Tel: +27 12 382 5352   Email: deruyterw@tut.ac.za