TUT Teaching and Learning Deputy Vice-Chancellor inaugurated an ASSAf member

by Phaphama Tshisikhawe

17 November 2023

Prof Barend van Wyk, the TUT Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Teaching, Learning and Technology has been inaugurated as a member of the premier body of scientists in the country - the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf). The announcement was made at the annual ASSAf awards ceremony on 9 November 2023. 

Prof Ben van Wyk, DVC for Teaching, Learning and Technology inaugurated an ASSAf member.

ASSAf is the apex organisation for science and scholarship in South Africa. Its core function is to house and to honour South Africa’s most outstanding scholars by electing them to Membership of the Academy. ASSAf Members are drawn from the full spectrum of disciplines and are elected by the full existing Membership. Membership of the Academy is a great honour and is granted in recognition of ‘significant achievement in the advancement and the application of science’. 

Prof van Wyk is a highly impactful researcher in his own right, and is also a seasoned academic leader. He has risen through the ranks across several top institutions of higher learning. He has been a National Research Foundation (NRF) rated researcher since 2005. With a doctorate in Electrical and Information Engineering, Prof van Wyk’s research interests include computational intelligence, machine learning, image processing, pattern recognition, and engineering education. He has published a total of over 160 journal articles, conference papers and book chapters. Prof van Wyk has successfully supervised/co-supervised 14 doctoral students and 31 master students to completion.

Speaking on his ASSAf membership, Prof van Wyk said that he was delighted and humbled at being elected to this prestigious body of scholars and scientists.

Prof van Wyk is passionate about science advocacy and closing the gap between science and society in general.

The Vice-Chancellor and Principal of TUT, Prof Tinyiko Maluleke could not contain his joy at the election of a third member of the TUT executive management team into ASSAf. “The Tshwane University of Technology takes immense pride in the honour bestowed on Prof van Wyk in recognition of his considerable contribution to science”. 

In total, TUT currently has seven scholars who are elected members of ASSAf.

For more information on the Tshwane University of Technology, please contact Phaphama Tshisikhawe, Corporate Affairs and Marketing.
Tel: +27 12 382 4711  Email: tshisikhawerpt@tut.ac.za