Excellence in all its magnificence celebrated at TUT’s Chancellor’s Awards

13 November 2023

The excellence and magnificence of “Top Seven” graduates were recognised at the annual Tshwane University of Technology’s Chancellor’s Excellence Awards ceremony, that took place at the Sheraton Hotel on 11 November 2023.

From left - Chancellor’s medal recipient, Mengo Cosmos Musuku, Shane Nikita Van Zyl, Tshwane University of Technology Vice-Chancellor and Principal Professor Tinyiko Maluleke, Sonto Annah Andile Mahlangu and Edrich Gresse.

The Chancellor’s Awards are based purely on numbers – only students who consistently exceed the highest percentages and marks are considered for the Chancellor’s Awards. 

In his keynote address, Prof Tinyiko Maluleke, the Vice-Chancellor and Principal lauded the academic high-fliers representing all seven faculties of the University, he said: “Students whose names will be called out today are nobody’s favourites. They are here by dint of their sheer hard work and their consistent high academic performance,” he explained.

Prof Maluleke also highlighted that the honour bestowed on the awards recipients is inspired by the outcome of excellence in the “morning, noon, afternoon and evening – every day, every week, every month, every semester and every academic year – excellence all the way up to the completion of the programmes and qualifications that were pursued by the award-winning students.”

Alluding to the dynamism of TUT as a University that is constantly moving from good to great, he said none of the seven recipients were invited by accident. 

“They are here because of the magnificence of their excellence. They are the epitome of the future-ready graduates our institutional strategy speaks of and their names will be inscribed into the hallowed pages of the history of the Tshwane University of Technology”, Prof Maluleke concluded.

Please click here to read Prof Maluleke’s full speech.

Chancellor’s Awards Recipients:

  • Faculty of Economics and Finance
    Sonto Annah Andile Mahlangu - National Diploma in Accounting.
  • Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment
    Edrich Gresse - Bachelor of Engineering Technology, specialising in Industrial Engineering.
  • Faculty of Humanities
    Mengo Cosmos Masuku - National Diploma: Legal Assistance.
  • Faculty of Information and Communication Technology
    Kearabetswe Dinah Tau - Advanced Diploma: Computer Science.
  • Faculty of Management Sciences
    Nomthandazo Happiness Hlophe – Diploma: Operations Management.
  • Faculty of Science
    Shané Nikita va Zyl - National Diploma in Biomedical Technology.
  • Faculty of Arts and Design
    Priyanka Naiker completed - Advanced Diploma in Performing Arts Technology.
Faculty of Economics and Finance Chancellor’s medal recipient, Sonto Annah Andile Mahlangu.
Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment Chancellor’s medal recipient, Edrich Gresse.
Faculty of Humanities Chancellor’s medal recipient, Mengo Cosmos Masuku.
Faculty of Science Chancellor’s medal recipient, Shane Nikita Van Zyl.

For more information on the Tshwane University of Technology, please contact Phaphama Tshisikhawe, Corporate Affairs and Marketing.
Tel: +27 12 382 4711 Email: tshisikhawerpt@tut.ac.za