Sign In
Live your life. Create your destiny.
Tshwane University of Technology

Home > News
Prof Lourens van Staden, new Chairperson of the South
African Technology Network (SATN).
Prof Lourens van Staden, Vice-Chancellor and Principal, has recently been elected Chairperson of the South African Technology Network (SATN) Board. His two-year term commenced on 1 September 2016. 

Prof Irene Moutlana, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Principal of the Vaal University of Technology, is the Deputy Chairperson of the SATN. She was appointed in November 2015 for a two-year term, from 1 January 2016 to 31 December 2017.

The TUT community echoes the congratulations from Dr Anshu Padayachee, CEO, South African Technology Network (SATN), wishing Prof van Staden every success during his term in this important position.

TUT is one of the founding members of SATN, which was established in 2006 by five universities of technology, to:

- Provide a forum to discuss higher education (HE) issues pertinent to UoTs, including cooperative education, teaching, research, technology transfer and innovation, etc.

- Advocate the needs, interests and purposes of technological universities and their communities to government, industry and other relevant groups.

- Develop policy positions and guidelines on various related HE matters.

- Promote collaboration and partnership amongst UoTs, between UoTs and other universities, as well as with government and other relevant stakeholders.

- Encourage international cooperation.

- Foster links and exchange of information with similar organisations in South Africa and abroad.

- Act as a source of information on technological higher education Institutions in South Africa and internationally.

- Promote the sharing of best practices in higher education.

The membership of SATN currently comprises Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT), Central University of Technology, Free State (CUT), Durban University of Technology (DUT), Mangosuthu University of Technology (MUT), Tshwane University of Technology (TUT), Vaal University of Technology (VUT), Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST).

The annual SATN Conference is scheduled to take place from 12 to 14 October. The theme of the conference, Partnerships for Innovation and Development: Making it happen. Making it better, will see a number of prominent speakers share the podium. These include Ms Edna Molewa, Minister of Environmental Affairs; Prof Ahmed Bawa, CEO, Universities South Africa; Chief Mabizela, Chief Director, University Policy and Development, Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET), South Africa, and TUT’s own Cleo Ndhlovu, Manager of the Centre for Tissue Engineering.

For more information on the Tshwane University of Technology, please contact Willa de Ruyter on tel: 012 382 5352 or send an email to